top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturergdeclue

My Theological Journey: Part VIII

Updated: Mar 13, 2020

My last two entries in this series on my theological journey focused on my time in Boston, including both positive and negative experiences that shaped by thought, approach, and concerns as a theologian. In this post, I will discuss my graduate degrees: what they are and what they entailed. It is helpful to explain them, because they do not follow the typical M.A./Ph.D. program that most doctoral students in theology undergo.

The three degrees are called "ecclesiastical degrees." They are academically recognized degrees but they are also degrees recognized and supported by the Catholic Church. Unlike the civil degree track, which has only two graduate degrees (M.A. and Ph. D), the ecclesiastical degree track has three: S.T.B., S.T.L., and S.T.D. My first graduate degree earned at CUA was the S.T.B. (Bachelor's of Sacred Theology). Despite its name, it is actually a Master's Level degree that required a lot more coursework than most Master's degrees. For instance, the M.A. program at Boston College only required 30 credit hours (10 courses) plus a comprehensive exam. My S.T.B. required 69 credit hours (23 courses) plus a comprehensive exam and language requirements. As a general theology degree, it required courses in all the major areas of theology: biblical theology, historical theology, moral theology, liturgical & sacramental theology, and systematic theology. Additionally, I took courses in canon law, homiletics (preaching), pastoral theology, and philosophy.

The second graduate degree was an S.T.L. (Licentiate of Sacred Theology) in systematic theology. The S.T.L. is essentially a teaching degree, granting a license (hence, licentiate) to teach on a graduate (Master's or Seminary) level. The 24 credit hours (eight courses) are taken from doctoral level courses, plus language requirements (Greek, Latin, and one modern language). As a specialized degree, the courses were all from the Historical & Systematic Theology Department. Additionally, there was a thesis requirement of 75-100 pages. I ended up writing about 140 pages for mine on "The Petrine Ministry within a Eucharistic Ecclesiology according to John Zizioulas and Joseph Ratzinger." There was also both oral and written comprehensive exams.

After several years away from CUA, I eventually went back for doctoral work. The degree I am finishing is a Doctorate of Sacred Theology (S.T.D.) in systematic theology. After the S.T.L. it requires four more doctoral level courses that either must require or make provision for a substantial research paper (defined as publishable in an academic, peer-review journal). Typically those papers ranged from 25 to 40 pages in length. Additionally, there is the written dissertation and the oral defense. In between, however, there is also something called a Lectio. With the help of my dissertation director and two readers, I have to come up with five topics related to the dissertation topic but not so close as to render the defense redundant. I need to prepare presentations on all five topics. Twenty-four hours before the Lectio, you are told which of the five you must present on for about half-an-hour before having about 60-90 minutes of Q & A from the panel. There is also the requirement of an additional modern language above the S.TL. (At BC, I studied French for Reading Knowledge. At CUA, I fulfilled my Latin, Greek, and German language requirements, and also did my second modern language exam in Spanish rather than re-do French, since it didn't transfer.)

I am currently in the final stages of my dissertation work, having completed most of the corrections for the first six chapters, so I can now write the seventh and final chapter. The title is "Joseph Ratzinger's Theology of Divine Revelation." It's currently about 340 pages long, so even reading it to do corrections takes a while. It has been a tremendous learning experience.

I was going to include favorite professors and courses at CUA in this post, but due to length, I've decided to save that for next time. Until then...

**Be sure to check out my YouTube videos under DeClue's Views (at least the theology ones; you can skip the fountain pen reviews! haha).

**If you'd like to support me and my efforts, feel free to make a contribution by going to the donation post.

**If you'd like to offer suggestions or make requests on topics to discuss, let me know in the comments. Thank you and may God abundantly bless you!


Feel free to donate to support my efforts, if you so desire:

106 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Book is finally here!

Some time ago, I wrote a blog post on “A Book I’d like to Write.” Well, I’ve done it! The official launch is today, April 16, 2024, which would have been Pope Benedict XVI’s 97th birthday. I’ll post t

Life Update

Wow! I can't believe it has been almost 2 years since I last posted. I had not realized how long it had been. I thought a little over a year perhaps, but not two. The reasons are varied. The number on

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page